NY Rush Win NPL National Championship!

07.23.13 - NY Rush NPL National ChampionsThe girls played a 20 game NPL league season and finished first with a W15 - L2 - D3 record to earn the right to play at the NPL National Championships. During league play we outscored our opponents 65-10, and took that momentum with us into Denver, and managed to score 24 goals in the 5 games we played. We only conceded 3 goals, and two of them were in one game.

Sofia Griff led the team with 10 goals and scored a hat trick in the opening 3-1 win over CWSA Navy from Washington. Jess Lazslo and Fallon Sheridan made significant contributions with a goal tally of 8 between them. The other six goals were scored by 5 different individuals, including a very first goal for the team by Jennifer Balzan. A terrific run upfield from her usual center back role, and some wonderful combination play led to a shot from 12 yards out to the far post.

It was a complete team effort throughout the 20 game league season, and again at the National Championships. We prepared well, and used our down time at the hotel to run classroom sessions designed to help the players better understand our opponents and the demands of playing at a higher altitude. 

Tori Fleischmann gets a special mention thanks to the way she managed to get her teammates rallied in our second game against Boca Gold when the game was tied, and Boca was enjoying more of the ball. She helped turn the team around and was the catalyst for a second half performance that we knew we were capable of.

This was the last event for Meredith Rogers, who is moving to Texas. Meredith has been a large part of the team and we wish her the very best for a bright and successful future.

CWSA Navy: Won 3-1
Boca Gold: Won 4-0
LA Premier: Won 7-0

FC Portland Academy: Won 6-2

Greater Boca Gold: Won 4-0

Charlotte Warble 
Sydney Wolin
Jennifer Balzan
Olivia Closson
Sara Rothery
Morgan Foster
Victoria Fleischmann 
Julia Leslie
Fallon Sheridan
Victoria Lange
Melissa Ardizzone
Erica Licari
Alyssa Valente
Meera Dheer
Meredith Rogers
Sydney Arnoff
Jessica Lazslo
Chloe Rosenfield
Sofia Griff
Coach Steve Davis